the part; the two

                                                            

I threw myself on Prakash’s sofa muttering how my life was ruined. Prakash was my friend from primary school days.

Woah, you mean become like a holy man? Like a Moulana?

Yeah Prakz. Sucks dhall right? (that means terrible for the unschooled in odd slang)

That’s hectic man. Will you be allowed to watch movies with me and stuff still after you become one?

I could see that was his primary concern since I always bailed him. He always just happened to lose his wallet whenever we went to the movies.

That’s the problem Prakz! I won’t be able to do so many things! Moulanas can’t go to the movies or to parties or listen to music, I’d find it weird if I saw any of them doing that. My life’s over!!

Yeah that’s way hectic man eish. Why don’t you just tell them no way Jose.

Nabeel ! Prakash’s granny ambled into the lounge. Why you boy’s don’t come watch with me? I got a nice Shah Rukh film on

Thanks Aunty but not today

You’ll so boring like that. Prakash did you get the ghee for my prayer lamp? Please go and get my stuff ready, just now it’s time for my prayers

I started getting a bit uncomfortable around this point. I read most of my salaah  though I wasn’t a very pious Muslim and got irritated when my sister told me I spend too much time at a non Muslims house for the safety of my imaan. What the hell did she mean? Now I understand. Our Imaan is like a thermometer,the temp will go up and down according to our environment.

 Al mar’u alaa deeni khaleelihi. A man is upon the deen of his friend.

A friend isn’t always someone we interact with but can apply to someone who we spend alot of time watching on screen or listening to. It affects us. 

 

I couldn’t think straight since Nana threw that ultimatum at me. Emotional blackmailer. He was home now. I went over to him watching Mum settle him in bed.

Nana…I need to ask you something… Err…Do I still need to go to Darul Uloom? Since like…since…

Since I never die? He asked me dryly.

Well yes I mean it was like a bit of an anti climax I said laughing. Nana laughed too. Luckily we had a great relationship or I would have got a black eye for rudeness.

Before my folks rushed Nana to hospital, he fell and on the way to the floor hit his face on the edge of his draw,thus when Mum found him , there was blood oozing out of his mouth. Mum went hysteric and assumed the worst. However what Did happen was a mild stroke. Although he was fine now, his movements were a bit jerky and slow. I ignored the slight pull at my heart.

 

Yes you still need to go. You promised. He eyed me under his bushy brows.

Daamn, Nana I thought you were going to kick it. Everyone was like reading and crying, I’d like heartless if I said no right

Sometimes I wonder if you’re really my blood,What is really your goals Nabeel? Yes I know you going to tell me to get rich and own a Bugatti but is that really a goal and you can’t get rich by sitting infront of your computer playing games or loafing with your friends,Beta you can’t even take the name of Allah without looking uncomfortable. Think of that. go now I’m tired

A few days later.

I had left for a holiday with my friends as a last fling before we all started the next year.

Yusuf appeared next to me. Nutella for your thoughts? He said offering me some. I stuck my finger inside broodingly.

You and me were supposed to go to campus together Handsome. It was going to be a blast. I mean how awesome is it that we both applied and got accepted  at the same faculty at  the same University? And now my plans are Ruined! Damn it Nana!

Err…he’s not here you know. Anyways what’s so bad about becoming an Alim? I know you had this vision to be the next Muslim John Pilger ( we had applied to study Media and Comm) but I think you’ll be doing a far greater work as an Alim, you will affect hearts.

So why the hell don’t you become one killjoy? I muttered striding off into the tempting waves with my board. My passion was the beach,the surfing,the wipe outs.

Yusuf cut through a delicious looking wave and stood next to me. What is it that you’re really afraid of Nab?

Change. I am afraid I’ll have to change and be good and holy, you know?

My eyes passed  over the endless  ocean, my friends up the craggy cliffs and my phone on the shore with fresh messages from the hottest girls. I couldn’t give up this fun. This awesome life. No way! I was going to make it clear to Nana as soon as I got back

A week later.

I stood stubbornly infront of my family,hands crossed defensively over my chest.

Nana calmly looks at me; Dont scold him Rukaya..fine Nabeel …you don’t want to go? Okaybut I’ve got a deal for you.

 

21 thoughts on “the part; the two”

  1. One question,is the author male or female? Nice to read sumthin from a male perspective,we can see how it is on the other side of the coin lol..keep up the good work,its a refreshing change from the normal zina blogs flooding the net..

  2. In life we are always afraid of ‘change’ . But many a times the change fan b very beneficial for us. May Allah make us ‘change’ for thee best.
    Keep up the awesome work!!!!!!!…..

  3. JazakAllah Khair once again, Ameen! wa taqabbal minka aidhan ameen ya Diraar, It is my experiences and of the guys who were my contemporaries,inshaAllah will try and get in a female perspective from my sister’s experiences as we go along

  4. if anyone can send me to blogs by other brothers that is good stuff, the sisters whose blogs I do read are great but sometimes it would be nice not to feel like the lone male planet in the blogospehere

    InshaAllah next post when i can get time,

  5. Slms seriously this blog is quite good n reallllly njoyin a males perspective..good job interesting. Yes I think we afraid to change we knw wats right n wrong but its as if we jus didn taste the goodness of it..right?!

  6. Ok I have one problem,plz punctuate like put inverted commas if characters r talking to each other,I get confused not sure if the Nabeel is talking to sum1 or to himself or jus thinking…..bt loving the story line,did u read Muhammed Ismails ‘to find a bride’ or something similar?its not deeni iclined bt has a lot of islamic perspectives of certain issues

  7. Aslkm. Respectfully, please respond to how we should address you?
    The males in the blog world are far and few for fictional, halaal reading. I know of one or two non-fictional Islamic ones that are good, if you are keen?
    Awaiting next post. JazakAllah for the eye-opening facts in this story.

  8. There is “to find a bride” by Muhammad Ismail..not islamically spiritual stuff,but brilliant writing,wit n humour..i personally enjoyed it..

  9. Ok , a few questions if I may… Is the author really an aalim? How much of the story actually DID happen? Just curious.
    Really enjoying what you’ve written so far, hope you will be one of the regular bloggers that do not disappoint.

  10. wa alaikum salam

    JazakAllah khair to all of you. Yes non fictional blogs deeni blogs most welcome.Personally I found the blog that was suggested by many…lacking and offensive spiritually #my opinion.
    Will work on the punctuation, JazakAllah for pointing it out.
    . Did I become an Alim and actually complete? That we shall have to wait and see. The title of the blog should give a clue…maybe.

    Will try to be regular as time allows.InshaAllah
    Make dua Allah gives me ikhlaas to stick to my niyyah

  11. To put up a subscribe widget, click on appearance, widgets (on your dashboard) and drag the ‘follow blog’ widget onto your sideboard allocation (or wherever you want it). Click save. Should appear on your site.
    Blogs:
    jalaluliman.blogspot.com
    (UK based Aalim)

    Was-Salaam.

Leave a Reply

