The part; The nine

BISMILLAHIR RAHMAANIR RAHEEM

Sometimes I have to sit and pull the thoughts out of my head trying to remember Madressa days as clear as I can to put it down on paper(or screen.) So I decided to open some of my dust laden kitabs and see if I am hit with a blast from the past. And indeed,everytime,I am.

Sometimes it’s not a blast but a whisper and sometimes it’s like someone whacked me solid. Like now. I have posted couple of good times already yet I forgot something I learnt way back in first year.

The power and importance of Bismillah.

May Allah forgive me for not putting His name before my thoughts.

‘Hey Deo” Nu’maan sneered at me. “Stop calling me that.” I said.

“stop calling me that,stop calling me that” He said in singsong,imitating me. “Why don’t you stop whining like a girl ”

“Oh shut up,I’m late for class” I said shoving past him. “Whatever dude,here’s the notes Ramzi said to give you.” He passed them to me.

I was touched, Ramzi was helping me with getting the hang of Fiqhul Muyassar and wrote down a few terminologies for me. I grabbed it and was out before Mister could irk me more.

Moulana Tameem’s Tafseer class.

“There are 114 chapters in the Mubarak Qur’aan. 113 begin with the qualities of Allah’s mercy and compassion. We should see and realise our Malik(Master),our Raaziq(Sustainer) is One whose mercy is wrapped around everything. On the arsh of Allah,it is written,”Certainly my mercy overpowers My anger” Allah is the One who is kind,who is Forgiving ,who is Tolerant, who doesn’t let the angels write a sin down immediately because He wants to give us time to make tauba but the mere thought of doing a good deed,is already counted as good.”

Ilyaas raised his hand. “ Moulana, soo no matter what we do Allah will forgive us?”

Moulana replied “ Well it is foolish to think that because of the mercy of ones Master,one can get away with anything. We should live with taqwa=between hope and fear.”

“But isn’t Moulana said we shouldn’t have excessive fear of Allah?”

Moulana smiled “That’s right, but enough to keep away from sin and enough hope to carry on with life….now back to Bismillah…whatever is begun without the name of Allah,remains empty of barakah(blessings) and so important this is that…

A knock rattled the door.

What followed was another ustaadh coming in to tell Moulana Tameem about two of my classmates who were absent apparently because they were sick but were caught smoking behind the boarding. The 2 suspects walked in sheepishly as 2 sheepish…sheep?

Perfect! We were going to be tested in the 2nd period and if Moulana Tameem lectured us long enough about good behaviour and amaanat(trust) I wouldn’t be tested. I mentally high fived myself. When you’re a freshie in Madressa,you waaait for someone to get into trouble so sabaq and testing is postponed and they can get a scolding and you zone out but in later years,you Hope for those advices,because your tarbiyah(character-building) and mindset  is created then

Later that night after Eshaa.

Nu’maan goes“So tell me Nabeel Ad Deo, did you read your Fadhaa’il A’amaal today?”

“Huh? I don’t think we’re doing that kitab in first year” I reply unknowingly.

Nu’maan laughs. “I should add to your kuniyah(title)- Stupideo.”

Ihsaan,one of the 3rd years walks past at that moment. “Oh lay off him bruv,he’s just a freshie innit” He says to Nu’maan,I hardly understood a word but new he was telling Nu’maan to politely get lost. He turned to me; “it’s the kitab that we read after Zuhr yeah? Don’t worry about this chap,he can be a bit butters(mean) at times but he’s nice deep under innit Numi.”

Very,very deep under. Might need a deep sea diver to find his niceness.

I went to sit next to Ramzi before lights out. “Ramzi,tell me if Nu’maan is normal?”

“ahh he just finds an easy victim in you because you don’t know how to answer him As yet but I believe you will one day,one day you will be very capable inshaAllah” Ramzi says convincingly.

I was barely past my first term,still didn’t know or practice too much yet he spoke as if he meant it and at that moment,some of his belief in me got into a crevice in my heart and turned into the first sprout of conviction. Go ahead, help build someone.

“Don’t take his word to heart Nabeel ukhayya(small bro) Nu’maan’s father was from Syria as I told you before but his Mum was from the UK, his baba (father) left his ummi(mother) and never came back to even see him. His Ummi was finished, when a businessman from India proposed her? She married him and when that man changed for Deen? She changed too and became deeni, so that man he insist that Nu’maan come to this Madressa because he knows some of our asaatizah personally. Nu’maan feels forced and wants to be in an Arab madressah or to live in Syria. And wishes for his father’s approval.”

One thought on “The part; The nine”

  1. Eish a salafi in a deobandi madressa can b tough..inshaAllah he gets hidayah n doesnt deviate any of the students..

Leave a Reply

